Jack Turner Wins 2007 Whiting Writers’ Award

Jack Turner Wins 2007 Whiting Writers’ Award

October 24, 2007

By Tom Turiano

On October 24, Exum guide and corporate president Jack Turner was one of ten authors awarded the 2007 Whiting Writers’ Award by the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation. The awards, which are now $50,000 each, totaling $500,000, have been given annually since 1985 to emerging writers of exceptional talent and promise.

Turner, who is the author of several books, was recognized in the award for his 2001 memoir Teewinot: Climbing and Contemplating the Teton Range, which chronicles his reflections and adventures as a naturalist and mountain guide in the Teton Range.

About The Author

  • Arc'Teryx
  • Black Diamond
  • Virginian Lodge
  • Samsara
  • La Sportiva
  • Mammut
  • 4FRNT